Our Team

Church Staff

Senior Pastor

Darin Kirkman

Originally from the “Great White North” (aka the Upper Midwest), Pastor Darin is grateful to serve the Lord in Douglas County since being called in 2017. Passionate about seeing wholehearted disciples of Jesus formed, He trained for gospel ministry at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School near Chicago, IL.

He is also ordained with the Evangelical Free Church of America. Darin is blessed to have Amanda as his wife since 2014. She teaches art from a biblical perspective at Geneva Academy. They are thankful to have their hands full with their firstborn Ansel. Darin and his family are avid about the outdoors: fishing, hiking, camping, snowshoeing, foraging and much more.

Communications Director

Jan Patton

Jan has been married to her husband Ken Patton, a retired pastor, for 57 years! They are blessed to have 5 children and 9 grandchildren. Taking to heart the Bible’s exhortation to care for the fatherless, the Pattons have also ministered to over 350 foster children.

For the past 15 years she has been serving at New Hope EFC. We are grateful that Jan brings her Bible College education, pastor’s wife experiences at multiple churches, and zealous desire to advance God’s kingdom into her role as our Communications Director. She is an avid lover of all things vintage and funky!snowshoeing, foraging and much more.


David Smith

Originally a Southern California boy, David and his family enjoy calling Southern Oregon their home. David and his family have called New Hope EFC their church home for many years. He is married to Sarah. They have one beloved son Ezra who is nicknamed a “New Hope baby”. Ask him why!

He takes seriously his role in helping us to faithfully steward this facility as a God-given tool for the advancement of the gospel.  When not serving New Hope, his family, or his community, you can often find him at one of his favorite fishing spots or on his three-wheeler.e.

Church Leadership

Elder Team

Darin Kirkman – Senior Pastor

Dan Brands – Church Chairman

Ken Patton

Deacon Team

Robert Farmer – Head Deacon

John Miller

David Smith – Custodian

Deaconess Team

Pam Kudson – Head Deaconess

Terry Ward

Teresa Gilliam

Judy Hyatt

Family Ministry Leader

Sarah Smith

Men’s Ministry Leader

Rick Taylor

Women’s Ministry Leader

Amanda Kirkman

Pastoral Counseling

Jennifer Trayes

Welcome Ministry Leader

Linda Darnell

Linda Darnell

Senior Ministry Leader

Elsie Chaney

Youth Ministry Leader

We love Jesus and we love our youth! So since June 2022, we have begun the search for a youth leader to help our youth and their parents to wholeheartedly follow Jesus together.